10 Songs to Put You In a Feel Good Mood

We think of librarians as relating to books (and a bibliothecary is a librarian), but libraries hold more than just books. That’s why our goals as the Feminist Biblothecary include sharing and talking about more than just books.

Like many other people, I personally enjoy songs that make me feel good (I enjoy other types of songs too, but in this moment, we’re talking about feel good songs). Generally speaking, songs that make me feel good are songs that are fun to hear and lift me up to sing along to. Songs that are body positive, sex positive, full of self love, tell of happiness, and overall just bring you up.

I wanted to share a few of my own favourites of songs filled with a feel good vibe, generally with a feminist bent. I’ve kept the theme of uplifting music and lyrics, and kept the genres in the vein of pop and hip hop, with a few exceptions. Most of the tracks are relatively recent releases.

 

Lizzo – Scuse Me

 

 

 

 

Miss Eaves – Thunder Thighs

 

Sammus – Song About Sex

 

 

 

 

 

Ani DiFranco – Little Plastic Castle

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mona Haydar – Hijabi

 

 

 

 

 

 

Princess Nokia – Tomboy

 

Dope Saint Jude – Realtalk

 

Little Mix – Wings

 

 

Cupcakke – Biggie Smalls

 

 

 

Bikini Kill – Rebel Girl

Leave a comment