Subscription Box Review: Raven Reads

I recently subscribed to Raven Reads, an indigenous-owned book subscription box designed to promote books by indigenous authors and products by indigenous creators. I had already purchased Northern Delights Inuit Tea from them, but I recently received my first ever box. The review is coming a little late, but I am still excited to share my thoughts about this excellent service and product.

The box came with information cards that were beautifully designed, and share information about indigenous culture and history as well as information about the contents of the box. There is a letter from the curator (also the founder of Raven Reads, Nicole McLaren) that explained how this box sought after content from south of the 49th parallel. There is a separate card explaining each of the items in greater detail. The last is a culture card, which shares information about the Osage Nation, and especially the “Reign of Terror” they faced in the 1920s. The letter from the curator also offers up further book recommendations for those looking to learn more (A Pipe for February by Charles H. Red Corn and Killers of the Flower Moon by David Grann)

There, There by Tommy Orange (member of the Cheyenne and Arapaho Tribes of Oklahoma) was the book selection. I haven’t had the chance to read it yet, but it definitely seems like one I would enjoy, and it is one that I had only first heard of a couple weeks prior to the box arriving. I’m excited to have the chance to read it, especially knowing I get to support the author and Raven Reads at the same time. The story of There, There focuses on a group of vastly different individuals coming together to the same powwow for each of their own personal reasons.

The canvas tote bag contains a quote from Tommy Orange (“this was the sound of pain forgetting itself in song”) and a simple image of the silhouette of a buffalo, which makes it go incredibly well with the book selection of course. The bag seems quite sturdy, and one can never have too many tote bags (I personally use them to carry books).

The indigenous-owned company Sequoia, which makes soaps, candles, and other related products, had a candle featured in the box. The scent was Blackberry Sage, and it is intended to last 15 hours (despite its very small size). So far, I have gotten a ton of use out of this candle. I have easily burned it at least ten hours, and I still have more candle left to burn. The scent fills the room, but it is incredibly light. I have someone with a finicky scent allergy in my house, and although I have exclusively burned the candle in my room, it has caused no reactions in the allergic person. I am honestly in love with the candle, and I plan on buying products from this company in the future.

The box came with a package of Red Corn Native Foods fry bread mix. I have never had or made fry bread, but I am definitely interested in trying it, and the package has easy to follow instructions on how to make fry bread as well as other recipes (like fry bread pancakes). I haven’t had the chance to actually try the product, but if I end up enjoying it, I will certainly buy more in the future.

Overall, I really liked this box. The information was fascinating, the book seems promising and was chosen well, and the products were delightful. I had a blast waiting for the box to arrive, and the tracking provided was helpful. I definitely look forward to seeing what else Raven Reads does. The candle is probably my favourite item in the box, but we’ll see if that stays the same as I get the chance to make the fry bread and read the book. I look forward to staying with Raven Reads as my subscription box of preference.

Leave a comment